happy thanksgiving

 

I celebrated my Thanksgiving this year with a dinner of oven roasted salmon, vegetables and a “ciabbata fitness roll” with a side of chemistry homework and a light sprinkle of math equations.  Some thousands of miles away, my family members were gathering and feasting on oven roasted turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, and my mom’s delicious pies, among other delicacies.

And for the record, no one makes better pie than my mom does.

Holidays will not always be the same.  A few years ago my family and I celebrated Thanksgiving at P.F. Changs at Waikiki Beach.  And though holidays will not always be the same, it is important to still remember the meaning behind the holiday.

I am so thankful for the opportunity I have been given to study abroad for a semester, immersing myself in a wonderful culture completely different than my own.  Of course the United States will always be my home, but now I can also consider Sweden to be like my second home.  I am also thankful for my family.  Never before have they meant so much to me.  Words cannot express how beyond lucky I am to know these wonderful people, including the ones I have known all of my life like my grandparents and aunts, but also some of the newer ones, like my Uncle David, Nikoa, baby Izzy, and Ale.

Since I am away this year, my mom and I planned our day/night so that I would be able to Skype with some family members as they were getting ready to eat.  For those of you who read my blog, it was so good to see you all!  (This was the first time I have Skyped with any of them since being over here.)  Grandma – You have got to be the cutest woman I have ever met. I just love you to pieces.  Ale – I can’t help but smile when I talk to you.  You give me warm fuzzies all around!  I wish I could see you much much more!  And Aunt Karen and Uncle David – I wish you all the best of luck with your move to Vienna and transitioning yourselves once again.

P.S. I know some pretty great German rap if you become interested in that 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

2 responses to “happy thanksgiving

  • chris phillips

    What a treat to Skype with you today! Visiting with you made Thanksgiving complete, like you were right there with us. Today’s family gathering was the largest we’ve had in a looonnnggg time and passing “you” around was really fun, haha! Happy Thanksgiving! I love your heading and pics above 🙂

  • Aunt Karen

    We love you so much, Jilly-Bean! It was good and great fun to see you at Thanksgiving; David and I had just barely arrived when they got you onto the computer. So, like you, we were also busy saying “hi” to lots of people we hadn’t seen in a long time, including you :-).
    I think we should start skyping with you now that we are here in Vienna – the same time zone as you!
    – Aunt Karen

Leave a Reply

