vegeterian tostada

With my new find from ICA – in the form of refried beans – I became so excited for what I could make with them!  I first thought of the delicious “breakfast” tostada’s that my mom makes back home, which are incredibly easy to prepare with just a few simple ingredients.  Here is what I used for this particular tostada, but you could always use your favorite blend of Mexican flavors:

  • tortilla (crisped in the oven at 400 F for about 7 or 8 minutes- usually back home we use tostada shells)
  • refried beans
  • (3) scrambled eggs
  • corn
  • sauteed red pepper and onion
  • salsa (it was a garlic salsa for me… :))
  • cheese

As you can see, this is definitely packed with protein!  Begin by preheating your oven to 400 F.  If you are using tortillas you will want to get them in there as soon as possible to cook.  Here is my recipe from there:

  • If you are not using tortillas and are using tostada shells instead, place them on a lined baking dish and put them in the oven for a few minutes to warm through.
  • On the stove, begin by heating a pan to saute any vegetables you want to include, if any.  I sauteed mine in a little bit of EVOO.  If you are going to include vegetables, make sure the pan is also large enough to scramble eggs in.
  • While the beans are warming and the vegetables are sauteing, mix the eggs in a bowl and add salt and pepper if desired.  At this time you could also prepare anything else you wanted to include: getting out cheese (I used a Mexican blend), opening a can of olives, dicing some green onion, eating some chips and salsa…..
  • Reduce the heat on the vegetables to allow the pan to come to a lower temperature to scramble the eggs.
  • Once your tortilla(s) are done cooking, or your tostada(s) are done warming, take them out of the oven, spread the refried beans over the top and set aside.  Make sure you have enough refried beans to cover the entire surface you are working with, with a nice thick layer.  To put it in perspective, I used about 3/4 of a jar of a can that is about half the size of a 15 oz. can back home.  But my tortilla is also a little larger than the average tostada shell.
  • After the vegetables are done, add the egg mixture to the pan and begin scrambling.  Once this is done, divide evenly among the prepared tortilla(s) or tostada(s), or if you’re like me, pile that baby on sky high
  • Once the eggs are placed on top of the refried beans, you can add any additional ingredients.  For me, this was some corn, garlic salsa, and cheese.
  • Place the tortilla(s) or tostada(s) back in the oven to warm through.  I put them in there for about 5 – 7 minutes because by this point it was pretty thick!  I also put in another tortilla to have some “tortilla chips” with salsa.

What’s great about recipes like these is that you can improvise with what you have on hand.  I had everything on hand except for the refried beans, which were the inspiration for this meal.  I can’t remember how closely this follows my mom’s recipe, but chances are if you know me then you probably know her because we are kind of a package deal, and I’m sure she would be more than happy to share this recipe with anyone.

Btw – I absolutely loved my homemade tortilla chips.  The way they heat makes them crispy, but with a chewy consistency because of the chewiness of the tortilla.  They could be better than normal tortilla chips!  If you wanted to make these you could do it just by heating in the oven, or you could even brush the tops of the tortillas with a little EVOO and add some seasonings to them.

 

3 responses to “vegeterian tostada

Leave a Reply

