easy breezy beautiful… sunday

So… it’s about dark here by 2:45 p.m.  At least it was a somewhat gradual process so I was slowly able to get used to the idea of this northern darkness, but that still doesn’t mean it isn’t disorienting or stinky.  On the bright side though, if the sun does happen to come out it makes the entire surroundings glow with a beautiful shimmer because of all the snow.  It is definitely a winter wonderland here.

Did you know there is an actual Santa Claus Village located in Finland?  Toby told me he was going there with his girlfriend this weekend.  Naturally I had to look more into it just to see what this place was all about.  (Toby even told me he would put in a good request for me with the jolly big guy.)  This village is located in the Arctic Circle and I bet it is just a place full of happiness, because who doesn’t love Christmas!  You can check out the Santa Claus Village’s web page here.

Speaking of Christmas, I decided to make some homemade hot chocolate tonight!

HotChocolate

I am drinking it as I am writing this post and it is divine.  Don’t get me wrong, I make a mean cup of hot cocoa with the pre-packaged powdered stuff (my secret is adding some coffee creamer to it), but this is a close comparison, and I bet most of you reading this probably have these ingredients on hand!  All it takes for one serving is 1 T unsweetened cocoa powder, 2 T granulated sugar, 2 T water, 1 C milk, a dash of salt, and a dash of vanilla if you want.  To make: combine the cocoa powder, granulated sugar, and water in a pan over medium high heat.  After 1 – 2 minutes, add the milk and other ingredients if you are including those.  Heat until your desired temperature.  It’s as simple as that!  Trust me, the richness of the cocoa powder combined with the fullness of the milk makes for one hell of a good cup of hot chocolate.  I may just have to make another.  nom nom nom.

That cup of hot chocolate was well earned today.  I went to IKSU for three classes and some cardio.  Today I did CX Worx, Total Training, and Body Balance because there was a guest instructor from Les Mills that was teaching the newest release of Body Balance.  You wouldn’t think that Tai Chi, Yoga, and Pilates would work up such a sweat, but it really does!  When there are guest instructors at IKSU I try to go to those classes just because it’s something new and basically they are professional trained to train others.  I have to admit, it was pretty great watching this big, hulking guy up on the stage doing the tree pose and happy baby.

The snow is starting to pile up.  It falls down in these big fat flakes and I can’t help but feel the urge to stick out my tongue and catch a few.  Look how large the snow piles are starting to get!  I bet we have at least two to three feet… which is a lot considering it just started snowing!

SnowPile

There is a nutrition supplement that I take every day called Reliv.  I mix three different supplements into one and chug it mixed with water.  Honestly it takes and looks like hay, but it has kept me so healthy and I just feel better taking a “shake.”  I am starting to get low on one of the supplements, so I decided to measure out shakes for all the days I will be traveling (to the Laplands and around with Iwan) just to make sure I at least had enough to have a shake each day, when nutrition intake will most likely be sub optimal.  It now looks like I have a huge drug stash in my room, but don’t these kind of look like little radishes… or frosting?  Too cute.

Reliv

I am also getting low on all the food I made at the beginning of the semester.  In fact, the timing could not be better because I will have just enough food to finish off the weak I get back from the Laplands.  Cooking a few meals at the beginning of the semester really worked out well for me.  On days when I was busy or lethargic I could just pull something out of the freezer and eat it all then or for the next couple of days.  I only made a few dishes, but they were big batches so they lasted a long time.

Today I stayed in my pajamas until 2:30 in the afternoon, exhibiting all components of social isolation – working on homework, watching PLL, doing laundry, and grocery shopping.  Some days are just like that, you know?  I keep waiting to get photos from a girl in my Sports and Leadership class from a class we had last week, so once those are up I have some good stories worth telling.

I think I am going to have to rent Home Alone soon, I am in desperate need of  holiday Christmas fix!  What are your favorite holiday movies?  And have you made any Christmas cookies yet?  Or a good pumpkin roll?  Mmmm… Feliz Navidad…

Only two more days until the Laplands!  Oh yeah!

4 responses to “easy breezy beautiful… sunday

  • Debi Ridder

    Love to keep caught up with you, Jill. It’s going to be really strange when you’re home again and I don’t know what you’re doing each day!!
    Have a great trip to the Laplands…
    We leave tomorrow for North Carolina.
    Love, Aunt Debi

  • Chris Olson Phillips

    What a fun post this was to read! I would LOVE to take a class taught by a Les Mills presenter. BTW, I am listening to Michael Buble as I write. I found him on http://www.soundike.com, the CHEAPEST place to download music legally. I can get his Christmas album for $1.92.
    You should see my Reliv baggies when I travel. I look like the biggest drug runner ever lol. I have that whole baggie thing down to a science :).
    Christmas movies so far: It’s a Wonderful Life, and The Christmas List (a cheesy romantic comedy that is sooo sweet! I watch it every year cuz it was one of Sarah’s favorites). Next up: A Christmas Carol, the one with George C Scott is the best! Then White Christmas, Home Alone, How the Grinch Stole Christmas (not the Jim Cary one which I hate blech), Little Women, Miracle on 34th Street, then It’s a Wonderful Life again. And maybe The Christmas List again haha. Can you tell I love Christmas movies?
    Have a wonderful time in The Laplands! See you soon Honey!

  • Laurie

    Tried your Santa Village link – but no bueno!

Leave a Reply

