oslo: day 3

I am planning on continuing to write blog updates as often as I am able, and when I get back to my computer editing and uploading all of my photos and creating a little progressive photo essay to accompany these posts.

We started day three with coffee (essential) and a brisk morning walk to the National Gallery to get more familiar with some famous artists and their even more famous works.  It only cost 30 NOK (Norwegian Kronor) to get into the museum with the student discount, and the ticket could also be used at three other museums in Oslo.

I was quite surprised to see that the National Gallery contained so many works of art by some of the most famous artists in history, including Monet, Rodin, Picasso, Manet, Goya, Dahl, Munch, Cezzane, Renoir, and many famous Nordic artists (whose names I am unable to remember at the moment).  My favorite artist of all time is Claude Monet, and I just love his impressionist depictions of flowers and nature.  I have had his painting Poppy Fields as my computer’s desktop photo since I got my computer before starting college.

Anyways, we saw one of the most famous paintings in the world, Edward (Edvard) Munch’s painting called Scream.  I was just glad it was bigger than the Mona Lisa which is an itty bitty thing that gets way too more attention than what it’s worth.  Trust me on that because I have seen it.  There was an entire room dedicated to Munch’s work, which is fitting because is probably the most famous artist to come from Norway.  There is also an Edward Munch museum in Oslo.

After spending a good four hours or so in this museum we stopped for lunch, well, I stopped for lunch which consisted of yogurt and coffee, and we headed to the Museum of Contemporary Art, of which every piece I did not understand the meaning or the function and was honestly a little disturbed by what I saw and why these things are considered art.  (Photos to come.)  We did not stay as long here, but did have some fun poking jabs at some of the “works of art.”  Once we were through there we went to the Museum of Architecture which was right across the street from the Museum of Contemporary Art.  This museum really only consisted of diaramas of architectural pieces, but it was still interesting to see the scale models of some famous buildings around northern Europe.  They also had a video with some photographs of an American architect who has designed a very prominent building in Norway.

Once we were through it was after 5:00 p.m. and I was in desperate need of some real food because coffee for breakfast and coffee for lunch doesn’t get me very far.  I parted ways with Iwan and Joe and went back to Bar Grensen for some fish soup!  Normally I would be more adventerous in wanting to try a larger variety of cuisine, but this soup was just so good I could not pass up the opportunity to dine on another bowl before leaving Oslo.

Tomorrow we leave uncomfortably early for Stockholm.  Our plane leaves at 7:40 a.m. but we have to get to the airport, get checked in, and all of that hoop-la, so we are planning on leaving around 5:45 a.m. for the train station.  I think it takes about 20 minutes or so to take the high speed train to the airport.  Oooof.

At least tomorrow we will be able to sight see some more of Stockholm before meeting up with Scanbalt and taking the night ferry to Helsinki.  As of tomorrow I will only have one more week in Europe before coming home!  I wonder how long it will take to readjust to American ways of living?

It’s actually kind of surreal how much I think I have adopted European ways of living, especially when it comes to being in public and traveling.  I guess half a year of living abroad will do that to a person!

I was able to chat with my momma for a long time today because luckily we were both online at the same time!  Happy Day!  She is adorable and has saved me Christmas cookies and carrot pudding (my favorite Christmas dessert) until I return.  She is also going to buy me some eggnog (my favorite holiday drink) too.  This goes great in coffee!  Maybe I will pick up some glogg in Stockholm and we can have a drink exchange.  Hot mulled wine anyone?

Right now I feel like a hot shower and an early night in.  I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and Santa was good to you all!

Leave a Reply

